1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. Membership
  4. Membership Resources
  5. External Links

External Links

Dance Organisations

British Dance Council
The governing body for all matters pertaining to all forms of ballroom, latin american, and disco freestyle dancing throughout England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and Channel Islands. www.british-dance-council.org

Council for Dance Education & Training (CDET)
Provides information on dance careers, funding etc. www.cdet.org.uk

Dance UK
A membership organisation for all dancers, Dance UK is a national voice for the dance profession. It aims to improve the conditions in which dance is created, performed and experienced, as well as promoting safe dance practice. It has various publications and services available, including the Healthier Dancers’ Medical Practitioners Register and the UK Choreographers Directory. www.danceuk.org

Foundation for Community Dance
A professional organisation for anyone involved in creating opportunities for people to experience and participate in dance. www.communitydance.org.uk

International Association for Dance Medicine & Science (IADMS)
Enhances the health, well-being, training, and performance of dancers by cultivating educational, medical, and scientific excellence. www.iadms.org

Youth Dance England
A national organisation that champions excellence in dance for and with children and young people. www.yde.org.uk


General Arts Interest

ArtsHub UK
Publishes essential jobs and news information to professionals working in the UK arts and cultural industries. www.artshub.co.uk

ArtsHub Australia
www.artshub.com.au

ArtsJournal
Daily arts news from more than 100 newspapers, magazines and e-publications. www.artsjournal.com

DancePartner.com
The largest dance partner directory in the world. Find someone who shares your passion for dance. Members use the website to connect with others for social and/or competitive dancing. www.dancepartner.com

Londondance.com
A general website offering a whole range of dance related information, including news, reviews, performances and a youth zone. Resources directory with a comprehensive listing of dance companies, events, venues, training, organisations, suppliers, health, etc. www.londondance.com

London Calling
A vibrant and pro-active online guide to everything cultural in the city of London. http://londoncalling.com 

Shape
Creates access to the arts for disabled and older people. London based but serving the UK. Pages on deaf arts and discount tickets with volunteer drivers. www.shapearts.org.uk


Government, Education & National Bodies

Arts Council England
The national development agency for the arts in England, distributing public money from the Government and the National Lottery. www.artscouncil.org.uk

Arts Council Northern Ireland
Supporting and promoting the arts in Northern Ireland. www.artscouncil-ni.org

Arts Council Wales
Organisation responsible for funding and developing the arts in Wales. www.artswales.org.uk

Ausdance National
Part of a network of Ausdance organisations delivering integrated programs across the country, anticipating industry issues and providing innovative and inclusive responses. http://ausdance.org.au

Australia Council for the Arts
The Federal Government's principal arts funding and advisory body. Information about grants, initiatives, publications, arts organisations and online search. www.australiacouncil.gov.au

British Council
Working with partners in the UK, the British Council helps to share British expertise and talent with over 100 countries worldwide. www.britishcouncil.org

Business Link
The government's online resource for businesses. www.businesslink.gov.uk

Canada Council for the Arts - www.canadacouncil.ca

Creative and Cultural Skills
The sector skills council responsible for advertising, craft, cultural heritage, design, music, literature, the performing and visual arts. www.ccskills.org.uk

Department for Education - www.education.gov.uk

Directgov
For all basic information on legal matters including employment, disability law, equalities and so on. www.directgov.uk

Equity
The UK trade union for professional performers and creative practitioners. www.equity.org.uk

Middlesex University  - www.mdx.ac.uk

National Resource Centre for Dance
Provides support services to dance education and research through: courses and publications for dance teaching and study, and an archive collection which is open to researchers and is actively utilized in research projects. www.surrey.ac.uk/NRCD

Ofqual
Regulator of qualifications, examinations and assessments in England and vocational qualifications in Northern Ireland. www.ofqual.gov.uk

Register for Regulated Qualifications
http://register.ofqual.gov.uk

Sport and Recreation Alliance
The umbrella organisation for the governing and representative bodies of sport and recreation in the UK and represents more than 320 members. www.sportandrecreation.org.uk

UCAS
For all information on university applications. www.ucas.com


Magazines & Online Publications

Animated - www.communitydance.org.uk/animated-magazine.html

Balletco - www.ballet.co.uk

Culturekiosque: Dance - www.culturekiosque.com/dance

Dance Art - http://danceart.com

Dance Australia - www.danceaustralia.com.au

Dance Books  - www.dancebooks.co.uk

Dance Current (Canada) - http://thedancecurrent.com

Dance Digest - www.dancedigest.co.uk 

Dance Europe - www.danceeurope.net

Dance Informa (USA) - http://usa.danceinforma.com

Dance Magazine (USA) - www.dancemagazine.com

Dance News - www.dance-news.co.uk

Dance Review - www.dancereview.co.uk

Dance Spirit (USA) - www.dancespirit.com

Dance Teacher (USA) - www.dance-teacher.com

Dancing Times - www.dancing-times.co.uk

Dance Today - www.dancing-times.co.uk/dance-today

Dance Train (Australia) - www.dancetrain.com.au

Linedancer Magazine - www.linedancermagazine.com

Pointe (USA) - www.pointemagazine.com

The Stage - www.thestage.co.uk


Events & Exhibitions

Australian Dance Festival - www.australiandancefestival.com.au

Big Dance
The world’s biggest and most influential dance initiative which is delivered through a network of London’s leading dance organisations: East London Dance, English National Ballet, Greenwich Dance, Sadler’s Wells and Siobhan Davies Dance. www.bigdance2012.com

Canada Dance Festival
A biennial festival celebrating the artistic achievements and creations of Canadian contemporary choreographers. http://canadadance.ca

Dans Kamera Istanbul - www.dancecamera-istanbul.org

Dance Salad Festival (USA) - www.dancesalad.org

Dance Umbrella
One of the world's leading international dance festivals, bringing new dance to London. www.danceumbrella.co.uk

Danza in Fiera
Four days of dance classes, performances, demonstrations involving all genres and styles, held in Florence, Italy each February. www.danzainfiera.it

Dublin Fringe Festival - www.fringefest.com

Festival de Dança de Joinville (Brazil) - www.festivaldedanca.com.br

Festival Internacional de Ballet de la Habana (Cuba)

Greenwich+Docklands International Festival
A ten-day rollercoaster of theatre, dance and spectacle showcasing the best of UK and international street arts. www.festival.org

Hong Kong Arts Festival - www.hk.artsfestival.org/en

International Ballet Festival of Miami (USA) - www.internationalballetfestival.org

International Dance Festival Birmingham (IDFB)
A major biennial festival produced by DanceXchange and Birmingham Hippodrome. www.idfb.co.uk

Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival
America's longest-running international dance festival brings together dance, music, art, and culture, with more than 300 free and ticketed events including dance performances, photography and art exhibits, lectures and discussions, tours and dance class observation. www.jacobspillow.org

MOVE IT
The UK's biggest dance event held each year in March at London's Olympia. www.moveitdance.co.uk

Next Wave
A biennial festival and artist development organisation, presenting genre-busting new work by the next wave of Australian artists. http://inside.nextwave.org.au

Zagreb Dance Week Festival (Croatia) - www.danceweekfestival.com


Dance Supplies

Ballet Digital - www.balletdigital.com 

Dance Direct - www.dancedirect.com

Dancewear365 - www.dancewear365.com 

Express Dance Supply - www.expressdance.co.uk

Harlequin Floors - www.harlequinfloors.com

International Dance Supplies - www.ids.co.uk

Katz Dancewear - www.katz-dancewear.co.uk

Maestro Records - www.maestrorecords.com

Theatre Music Shop - www.theatremusicshop.com

Wizard Video Productions - www.wizardvideo.co.uk


Online Resources for Teachers

#ukedchat on Twitter
Weekly discussion group of education professionals in the UK involving a one hour discussion every Thursday evening on a topic that is decided on by the public on a wiki page. ukedchat.wordpress.com

TES Forums
The most well-known social media website for teachers where 1.5 million members discuss a range of education-related topics. www.tes.co.uk/forums


Online Resources for Students

AllAboutCareers.com
A careers information site for 16-24 year olds looking for graduate schemes, graduate jobs, apprenticeships, placements & internships. Featuring 24 sectors where students can discover career options, get industry-specific careers advice, browse employers, apply for jobs and find out about upcoming events. www.allaboutcareers.com

Creative Choices
Careers knowledge, tools and support, helping you to develop a career in the creative and cultural industries. www.creative-choices.co.uk

Get into theatre
Current theatre jobs, theatre work experience opportunities and theatre careers advice. www.getintotheatre.org

First News
Award-winning UK national newspaper for children aged 7-14.  www.firstnews.co.uk

Stage Door Mag
Reviews, Interviews, Competitions and Articles from industry professionals. Providing information, inspiration and a safe haven for young performers. www.stagedoormag.co.uk