1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. About Us
  4. People



. . .
. . .
. . .



In 1924 the ISTD had grown to such a size that it was decided to create a number of Faculties, each dealing with a different aspect of the dance.

Originally three in number, these now number 11. Today, the structure is based on three levels: Faculty Committees, Faculty Boards and Administrative Council.

Faculty Committees

The 11 Faculty Committees are each responsible to their members for the development of the technique concerned. Thus, they deal primarily with the regulation and conduct of examinations, the instruction of members by courses and lectures in the various syllabi, the arrangement of competitions, scholarship awards and other activities which further the progress of the Faculties. Faculty Committees are elected by a ballot of their members every three years.

Faculty Boards

There are two Faculty Boards whose task is to co-ordinate and assist the work of the Faculties belonging to them (the work of the Faculties is inter-related and members may be attached to two or more). There is, therefore, much common ground in the Faculties as regards the structure of their examinations, the qualifications awarded and the eligibility of candidates to enter examinations.

Administrative Council

The Faculty Boards are represented on the Council of the ISTD. One third of the members of the Council are elected every year by the general membership of the ISTD. The Council is the policy making body and is empowered to accept or refuse Faculty Board and Committee recommendations on all other matters. The Council has responsibility for the financial administration of the ISTD primarily through its division, the Finance and Audit Committee.


Find us on Facebook