hit ENTER TO SEARCH
Courses

Introduction to Karanas

Book Now
important info

Date - Fri, 06 Aug 2021 14:00

Venue - Online

Style - Classical Indian Dance

ABOUT

Join Nirupama, Co-founder of 'Abhinava Dance Company' for a summer session of Introduction to Karanas.

Course Details

Society members and non-members are invited to attend our 'Introduction to Karanas' online masterclass, led by Nirupama.

Nirupama is the Co-founder of 'Abhinava Dance Company', one of India's most cutting-edge production houses and is one of India's foremost classical dancers, hailing from a family of educationists, artists, and Harikatha Vidwans (traditional storytellers).

This course is aimed at students and teachers aged 14+. Some technical knowledge is required and participants will ideally have 5+ years experience in Classical Indian Dance.

This 3 hour session will be in two sections (1.5 hours) and will introduce participants to the expressive art of Karanas with time for reflective questions at the end of the session. The course will cover development of expressive work across all styles.


International Times:

09:00 - 12:00 EST / 6:00 - 9:00 PST (N. America)

10:00 - 13:00 BRT (S. America)

17:00 - 20:00 GST (UAE)

19:00 - 22:00 IST (India)


Photo credit: Vinod Gowda

Terms & Conditions

  • This session is open to all Classical Indian Dance teachers and students worldwide, irrespective if they are an ISTD member or non-member.
  • Due to the nature of this session all attendees are required to have at last 5 years dance experience.  
  • All attendees should ensure they have completed a sufficient warm up for themselves before the session and that you work in a safe manner in your studio /practice space/home space in order that you do not cause injury.
  • Please ensure that your chosen practice space/studio, is suitable and completely clear from any obstructions, that your floor is safe to dance on and that you work within COVID parameters.  
  • The Zoom link for the online event must not be shared with anyone under any circumstances.
  • The name on the device which you use to access the Zoom session, must match the name in which the ticket was purchased in order that you can be allowed into the session.
  • The Society cannot be held responsible for any loss of internet connection during this session.
  • The Society cannot be held responsible for any injury that may occur during this session.
  • We regret that no refunds are payable once a ticket has been bought and payment received.
Photo credit: Nagaraj Somayaji

Pricing and More

Tickets now on sale!

Member Tickets:

£20 (Early Bird) £25 (General Sale)

Non-member Tickets:

£25 (Early Bird) £30 (General Sale)


If you have any questions or queries, please contact us via email events@istd.org.