1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. News
  4. News Archive
  5. Janet Cram Finals

Janet Cram Finals

Janet Cram Finals

4 October 2010

Competing on a London stage. Lyn Richardson reports.

On Sunday 13th June, the Janet Cram Finals saw us in a fabulous new venue this year, the Shaw Theatre in Euston, which gave our talented young dancers the opportunity to perform on a London stage. A popular decision received by the teachers, competitors and audience alike.

 The standard, as always, was extremely high. The common thread amongst the winners was the entertaining, creative and artistic dances they performed together with a high level of technique. It is so rewarding to see the Modern Theatre work danced with such dedication and conviction. All of our competitors are so obviously inspired by their equally dedicated teachers so it was a real pleasure for us to invite Marcus Farnsworth to present the award in memory of his late mother, Alison Willett. Marcus spoke of the care that Alison took with every pupil she taught and her ability to inspire the love of dance. Alison had the unique gift of creating dances that totally suited the dancer in the most artistic and atmospheric way.

We look forward with eager anticipation to the Janet Cram Heats and Finals 2011.

Lyn Richardson

A Thank You
Judith Hockaday and the examiners at the Janet Cram Heat in the South West would like to extend their appreciation for the generosity of Mr David Wilkinson who has for many years provided the class prizes. David is retiring from his shop, and we wish him a long and happy retirement.

The Results

Junior Winner
Lucy Renouf
(Candi Trabucatti)
Roshe Performing Arts

Junior Runner-Up
Beckie Smith
(Corraine Collins)
Corraine Collins Dance Studios

Junior Outstanding Dance
Grace Cleak
(Tracey Wring)
Jason Theatre School

Junior Boys Winner
Harris Beattie
(Karen Berry & Michelle White)

Senior Winner
Frankie Theakston
(Paula Dymock)
Harlequin Stage School

Senior Runner-Up
Jenna Miles
(Janet Marshall)
Janet Marshall Dance Studios

Senior Outstanding Dance
Kayleigh Gilbert
(Suzanne Sharkey)
Elliot Clark

Premier Winner
Tied Nathan Saxon
(Aaron Lissimore)
Tiffany Stage Academy;
Edward Chitticks
(Simone Castle & Leanda Shelton)
Stagestruck, The Academy

Premier Runner-Up
Gabrielle Orr
(Deborah Norris)
Centre Pointe

Premier Outstanding Dance
Holly Adams
(Paula Dymock)
Harlequin Stage School


Elliot Clark Memorial Award Awarded to the teacher and school gaining the most accolades throughout the Finals
Paula Dymock
Harlequin Stage School

Alison Willett Memorial Award
Anthony Starr
(Judith Hockaday)
Judith Hockaday School


Photo shows Anthony Starr – Alison Willett Memorial Award winner

Back to news listing