1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. News
  4. The Cecchetti Children’s Awards and the Cyril Beaumont Scholarship 2018

The Cecchetti Children’s Awards and the Cyril Beaumont Scholarship 2018

The Cecchetti Children’s Awards and the Cyril Beaumont Scholarship 2018

29 January 2019

Reports from two of the Cecchetti Faculty's most popular events

Cecchetti Children’s Awards 2018

(News cover image: Children’s Award Winner Melody Chan centre with Adjudicator Linda Young, Runners up Eady Parmenter (L) and Lucy Crawford (R))

The Cecchetti Children’s Awards took place on Sunday 11th November at Westminster Kingsway College. The event comprising Let’s Make a Competition and the Cecchetti Children’s Awards attracted a record entry this year, with 87 children taking part in the day.

The Adjudicator for the day was Linda Young FISTD, whose words of encouragement and advice supported the young dancers. Let’s Make a Competition was presented on stage by Rachel Gordon with Anna Williams at the piano. Tanith Waldie then presented the Children’s Award competitors with Evie Preston accompanying. Members of the Cecchetti Group and their Chair Elizabeth James, worked tirelessly with a backstage team of hardworking, dedicated volunteers to ensure the event ran smoothly and safely. The warm response of the audiences of families and teachers reflected that it was a very enjoyable day for all who took part. The results were published online on istd.org.

Let’s Make a Competition - getting ready to go onstage Cecchetti Associates Performance Shield Winner Carrie Kitchen and Runner up Isabella Pattison with Adjudicator Linda Young


The Cyril Beaumont Scholarship 2018

The 15 competitors for the 2018 Cyril Beaumont Scholarship, held on 18th October at the studios of Kate Simmons Dance in Warrington, on a gloriously sunny autumnal day, had before them the prospect of an expertly crafted class taken by Gillian Hurst, accompanied by music of the highest order by pianist John Taggart. Against this backdrop the contestants were given every opportunity and encouragement, not just to “do Class” but to enjoy the occasion, to express themselves and above all, to perform.

The result was two hours of top quality entertainment for the lucky invited guests, among whom were Catherine Hutchon, Chair of the Cecchetti Society Classical Ballet Faculty, Elisabeth Swan, Chair of The Cecchetti Society Trust, and Brenda Last OBE, a Patron of KS Dance. It also made the job of the adjudicators, Oliver Rydout, Rehearsal Director of Scottish Ballet, and Maureen Christie, who served as a Cecchetti Faculty Committee member and Senior Examiner, that much harder.

Almost any combination of the dancers taking part could with justification have won the awards on offer, but the adjudicators finally settled on the following: Overall Winner – Chloe Horton; Runner-Up – Paige Curzon; Musicality Award – Elliot Adams; The Mary-Jane Duckworth Award for the Most Promising Male Student – Stuart Strongman; and Highly Commended – Danielle Burgess and Ella Matthews.

Kate Simmons expressed her most grateful thanks to The Cecchetti Trust for its ongoing and valued support, after which the invited guests were treated to a sumptuous champagne tea, provided by Sharon Gill and her daughter Poppy, which was a fitting conclusion to a memorable day.

David Lloyd

Cyril Beaumont Scholarship winners with Adjudicators Oliver Rydout and Maureen Christie

Back to news listing