UCAS Points and Glossary of Terms

UCAS Points

UCAS tariff points translate your qualifications and grades into a numerical value, which some universities, colleges, and conservatoires may refer to in their course entry requirements. If students took their Grade 6 and/or Intermediate from 1st September 2010 (when the qualification was transferred to the Qualifications and Credit Framework), they can receive the following UCAS points.

The number of points they can get depends on how well they did in their examination (i.e. Distinction, Merit or Pass).

Grade 6
Tariff Points
Tariff Points

When completing the online UCAS online application form, there are multiple sections that need to be completed:

  • Selecting the subject (Dance) and then specifying the genre (e.g. Imperial Classical Ballet)
  • Inputting the qualification date as stated on the certificate
  • Selecting the awarding organisation – the Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing should appear on this list
  • Selecting the grade (Distinction, Merit or Pass)

Equivalence of qualifications levels

Level 3

Equivalent to A Level standard

Level 4

Equivalent to the first year of a degree or a Certificate of Higher Education

Level 5

Equivalent to the second year of a degree, a Diploma of Higher Education, a Foundation Degree or a Higher National Diploma

Level 6

Equivalent to a Bachelor’s degree with or without Honours

Level 7

Equivalent to a Master’s degree or to a PGCE

Level 8

Equivalent to a Doctoral degree Merit M

Glossary of Terms


Approved Dance Centres


The formal acknowledgement, through assessment, of learning acquired from previous experience.


BA Honours in Professional Practice 


The British Dance Council is the governing body for all matters pertaining to all forms of Ballroom, Latin American, and Disco Freestyle dancing throughout England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Channel Islands.


Council for the Curriculum Examinations and Assessment – Regulatory Body for Northern Ireland


Certificate in Dance Education (level 4)


Continuing Professional Development


Department for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills – Regulatory Body for Wales


Level 4 Diploma in Dance Education


Level 3 Diploma in Dance Instruction


The Level 5 Diploma in Teaching and Learning in the Lifelong Learning Sector is a qualification that allows the holder to progress onto Professional Formation through IfL and, if successful, then onto QTLS.


The European Qualifications Framework aims to relate different countries' national qualifications systems to a common European reference framework. Individuals and employers will be able to use the EQF to better understand and compare the qualifications levels of different countries and different education and training systems.


Foundation in Dance Instruction (level 3)


The Graduate Teacher Programme is a teacher training programme designed for graduates that allows individuals to attain their QTS while training and working in a paid teaching role.


Higher Education


The Institute for Learning is the professional body for teachers, tutors, trainers and student teachers in the further education and skills sector.


Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing


The National Qualifications Framework is the qualification framework which included all general and vocational qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland accredited since 1997. Many qualifications are now transferred to the QCF which uses a credit based system to recognise qualification size and gives a more flexible approach to learners' needs.


The Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator –Regulatory Body for England


The Postgraduate Certificate in Education is the qualification designed for individuals with degrees who want to embark on their initial teacher training and attain their QTS.


The Qualifications and Credit Framework is the unit and credit based national qualifications system for England, Wales and Northern Ireland which enables the accumulation and transfer of credits and the easy identification of each achievement’s level and size.  Only qualifications on this framework will be recognised for equivalence with other countries’ qualifications via the EQF.


Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills is the status required by teachers wishing to practice in the lifelong learning sector in England and Wales. This status is awarded by IfL after their process of Professional Formation.


Qualified Teacher Status is the accreditation that enables the holder to be paid as a fully qualified teacher in state-maintained and special schools in England and Wales.

Work-based learning

Work-based learning is learning that provides a flexible learning experience that is delivered through work, in work, for work. It provides individuals with an alternative to conventional study and allows them to design their programme based on their interests and needs.