1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. Teach
  4. Teaching qualifications
  5. UCAS Points and Glossary of Terms

UCAS Points

About UCAS Tariff Points

UCAS points (also known as UCAS Tariff points) are a way of measuring the relative value of qualifications in the U.K. 

The UCAS Tariff assigns a numerical score to the possible grades that can be achieved in each type of qualification. The higher the grade a learner achieves, the higher the number of points they will receive.  

Importance of UCAS Points

Some universities, colleges, and conservatoires may refer to UCAS Tariff Points in their course entry requirements. Being able to compare qualifications they are less familiar with against more common ones encourages a fairer decision-making process when it comes to making offers.  According to UCAS, two-thirds of university courses don't use the UCAS Tariff to advertise course requirements, but for those that do, it allows greater flexibility over the grade combinations needed to meet the requirements.

A grade-based offer (means a learner must achieve a certain combination of grades (e.g. AAB), whereas an offer based on UCAS points (e.g. 120) allows a learner to use any combination of grades to meet the threshold.

ISTD Qualifications and UCAS Tariff Points

ISTD graded and vocational graded dance examinations at Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) Level 3 are allocated points on the UCAS Tariff as per the below table.  The number of points learners can get depends on how well they did in their examination (i.e. Distinction, Merit or Pass).

Grade 6 Tariff Points Intermediate Tariff Points
Distinction 14 Distinction 33
Merit 10 Merit 27
Pass 8 Pass 24

UCAS tariff points are applicable to ISTD graded and vocational graded dance qualifications from 1st September 2010. 

How many UCAS points do I have?

Tariff points can be acquired either via a single type of qualification, or a mixture of two or more.  Learners can find out more about UCAS Tariff points on the UCAS website.

More about UCAS Tariff Points

Glossary of Terms

ADC Approved Dance Centres
APEL The formal acknowledgement, through assessment, of learning acquired from previous experience.
BAPP BA Honours in Professional Practice
BDC The British Dance Council is the governing body for all matters pertaining to all forms of Ballroom, Latin American, and Disco Freestyle dancing throughout England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Channel Islands.
CCEA Council for the Curriculum Examinations and Assessment – Regulatory Body for Northern Ireland
CDE Certificate in Dance Education (level 4)
CPD Continuing Professional Development
DCELLS Department for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills – Regulatory Body for Wales
DDE Level 4 Diploma in Dance Education
DDI Level 3 Diploma in Dance Instruction
DTLLS The Level 5 Diploma in Teaching and Learning in the Lifelong Learning Sector is a qualification that allows the holder to progress onto Professional Formation through IfL and, if successful, then onto QTLS.
EQF The European Qualifications Framework aims to relate different countries' national qualifications systems to a common European reference framework. Individuals and employers will be able to use the EQF to better understand and compare the qualifications levels of different countries and different education and training systems.
FDI Foundation in Dance Instruction (level 3)
GTP The Graduate Teacher Programme is a teacher training programme designed for graduates that allows individuals to attain their QTS while training and working in a paid teaching role.
HE Higher Education
IfL The Institute for Learning is the professional body for teachers, tutors, trainers and student teachers in the further education and skills sector.
ISTD Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing
NQF The National Qualifications Framework is the qualification framework which included all general and vocational qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland accredited since 1997. Many qualifications are now transferred to the QCF which uses a credit based system to recognise qualification size and gives a more flexible approach to learners' needs.
Ofqual The Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator –Regulatory Body for England
PGCE The Postgraduate Certificate in Education is the qualification designed for individuals with degrees who want to embark on their initial teacher training and attain their QTS.
QCF The Qualifications and Credit Framework is the unit and credit based national qualifications system for England, Wales and Northern Ireland which enables the accumulation and transfer of credits and the easy identification of each achievement’s level and size.  Only qualifications on this framework will be recognised for equivalence with other countries’ qualifications via the EQF.
QTLS Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills is the status required by teachers wishing to practice in the lifelong learning sector in England and Wales. This status is awarded by IfL after their process of Professional Formation.
QTS Qualified Teacher Status is the accreditation that enables the holder to be paid as a fully qualified teacher in state-maintained and special schools in England and Wales.
Work-based learning Work-based learning is learning that provides a flexible learning experience that is delivered through work, in work, for work. It provides individuals with an alternative to conventional study and allows them to design their programme based on their interests and needs.